Finalist Entries: A Poem for Ireland

Home  /  Schools  /  Post-Primary Schools  /  1916 Commemorations: Poetry Competition  /  Finalist Entries: A Poem for Ireland

poetry competition

Congratulations to all eight finalists at A Poem for Ireland national competition. Their poems are presented on the following pages.

Tom French, poet and a member of the judging panel, spoke on behalf of the judges following the event. Listen to his words below.


A Poem for Ireland Winner:
Dublin City: Róisín Finnegan, Holy Faith Secondary School, Clontarf

Runner Up:
Kildare: Jane Rigby, St Mary’s College, Naas

3rd Prize:
Carlow: Lucy Ní Dhuiginn, Gael Cholaiste Cheatharlach

Highly Commended by the judges:
Fingal: Alisa Oriol, Loreto Secondary School, Balbriggan

Other National Finalists:
Waterford: Louise Dunphy, Our Lady of Mercy Secondary School
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: Fionn O’Sullivan, Newpark Comprehensive, Blackrock
Westmeath: Una Faller, Athlone Community College
Laois: Anita Walis, Portlaoise College